chewan also provides for a Public Health Council, consisting of the Deputy Minister as Chairman, three medical practitioners, a veterinary surgeon and a civil engineer. This council acts in an advisory capacity to consider new health regulations and allied problems.

The Department is organized into seven Divisions. In the Division of Administration, besides the clerical staff, there is a medical officer directly responsible to the Deputy Minister. This Division co-ordinates the activities of the Departments as a whole, and formulates general policy regarding health matters. The Division of Maternal and Child Welfare is linked with the Administrative Division and The Division of Public Health Nursing carries out supervises maternity grants. inspection of school children and home visits, organizes pre-school and preventive clinics in co-operation with local physicians and conducts a generalized public health nursing service throughout the province. The Division of Communicable Disease deals with epidemiology in all its phases and also the care of the dead. Supervision of trachoma, veneral diseases, and tuberculosis (where not conflicting with the Anti-Tuberculosis League) comes under this Division. The Division of Sanitation supervises food, water, milk and ice supplies, sewerage systems, urban and rural sanitation, and the organization of union hospital districts. The Division of Laboratories includes in its program bacteriology, serology, pathology, chemical analyses and medico-legal work. The Division of Vital Statistics administers the Vital Statistics Act and the Marriage Act. The system used in classifying vital statistics has been decided upon in co-operation with other provinces and the Dominion Bureau of Statistics.

The Deputy Minister is Chairman of the Cancer Commission, which was created by an Act of the Legislature in 1930. This Commission is in close touch with the most recent advances in the diagnosis, prevention and treatment of cancer and operates three emanation plants, two at Saskatoon and one at Regina.

The mental hygiene work of the Department comes under the direct supervision of the Commissioner for Mental Services.

Union Hospitals.—In Saskatchewan, in addition to the general hospitals, there exists a system known as the union hospital scheme, designed to furnish hospital accommodation in rural districts. Under the provisions of this plan two or more rural municipalities may co-operate with any number of urban municipalities in arranging to build, equip and maintain a hospital. The Hospital Board may, if it so desires, institute what is known as free treatment, that is, the individual patient does not pay his hospital account but the total maintenance cost of the hospital is taxed against the district as a whole.

Alberta.—The Department of Public Health was established by an Act of the Provincial Legislature in 1919. The Department includes the following Divisions: Communicable Diseases; Sanitary Engineering and Sanitation; Public Health Education; Laboratory; Public Health Nursing; Hospitals, Municipal Hospitals; Hospital Inspection; Social Hygiene; Vital Statistics; Mental Hygiene; Dental Hygiene; and the following institutions: the Central Alberta Sanatorium and four mental institutions.

Free clinics for venereal diseases are maintained in the principal cities and in the two provincial gaols. Educational work on social hygiene is carried on by means of lectures, moving pictures, bulletins and radio talks.